We at Rabbit Valley® Comics would like to congratulate the winners of the 2013 and 2012 Cóyotl Award winners.

2013 Cóyotl Award Nominees and Winners:

Best Novel

Best Novella

Best Short Story

  • Fox in the Hen House by Mary E. Lowd (winner)
  • Hellhound by Renee Carter Hall
  • Son of the Blood Moon by Bill Rogers
  • The Claw in her Heart by Renee Carter Hall

Best Anthology

2012 Cóyotl Award Nominees and Winners:

Best Novel:

Best Novella:

Best Short Story:

  • Chasing the Spotlight by Tim Susman (winner)
  • Greener on the Other Side by Sarina Dorie
  • Rearview by Sean Silva
  • The Savior of Dragondom by Sarina Dorie

About the Cóyotl Awards (Taken from http://coyotlawards.org/about/)

The Cóyotl (pronounced KAI-yeh-tuhl) Awards Recognizing Excellence in Anthropomorphic Literature were founded in 2012 to promote quality writing within the furry fandom.

In 2010, members of the Furry Writers’ Guild began the first conversations regarding a new set of literary awards within the fandom. The Ursa Major Awards have a long and proud history within the fandom, but their nominations and voting system are open to the general public. Many within the Guild felt that we needed a means to recognize quality work among our own, an anthropomorphic Nebula equivalent to the Ursas’ Hugos.

It would take a year of percolating and more conversations, but in July of 2011, Mary “Ryffnah” Lowd formally proposed that the Furry Writers’ Guild should launch an award system unique to anthropomorphic literature. Another six months of hammering out details would follow, and who proposed to do what changed paws several times. However, in February of 2012, Kristina “buni” Tracer formally launched the Cóyotl Awards as a means for the Furry Writers’ Guild to recognize and further the reach of quality anthropomorphic literature. Kristina Tracer ran the awards for a season and a half before Mary Lowd took over as Awards Chair.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *